Thank you William

I wanted to introduce you all to someone very important in my life. Although this blog doesn’t do justice for how special this person is and how much he means to me, I hope it can give you all a glimpse of how grateful I am that through YAGM and by the grace of God, we became friends.

I met William on my very first day in Mabopane. He helped pick me up from the bus station. I was extremely nervous not knowing where I was or what I was getting myself into. He greeted me with a warm hug saying, “Hello my darling.” And in that moment I was overwhelmed with comfort. Everything would be okay. And that day he made a mark on my heart forever.

William is 71 years old. He grew up working on a farm for Afrikaners with his mom and dad and all of his 7 siblings. I cherish the days I can sit with him and learn about his life. William grew up and lived half of his life under the laws of Apartheid. I’m so thankful for his vulnerability in sharing his stories with me. He talks about having jobs in the workplace where he was discriminated against based on his race and language. His struggles in commuting hours to and from school on foot everyday. How he never gave up hope or positivity, because he knew “God was with us.” He tells me, “If it were still Apartheid, you and I wouldn’t be sitting here right now having a conversation about life. I’m glad that it’s over and we can be friends.”

William is now retired, walks everywhere every day, gyms in the mornings, and works three days of the week on the church grounds. Every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday I look forward to seeing his bright and smiling shining face. He always greets me with a giant smile from ear to ear. “Hello my darling!” His presence is so calm, peaceful and content. There’s always time to stop and chat (or sometimes have tea!), no matter how busy either of us are. Whether he is teaching me about a tree in the yard, or we are updating each other on our family, it makes any kind of day I’m having even better. When I spend time with William, even if for a few minutes or a few hours, I gain a sense of joy that I think we all lose when we get wrapped up in the business of every day life.

William always, and I mean ALWAYS, knows what to say. Sometimes he even gives me unsolicited advice that is exactly what I needed to hear! I even tell him, “It’s like you knew what I was thinking.” And he merely says, “God works in mysterious ways,” with a big smile and laugh. William is the kind of friend who will sit down with you for an hour or more to look at pictures of your family. “They are all so beautiful,” he says. The kind of friend who prays that he will get the chance to meet them all at my wedding someday. The kind of friend that when I am struggling or stressed, reminds me to be the person I am, because that person is enough; “The person God intended you to be,” he says. He is the kind of friend, that when I heard difficult news from home, showed up unexpectedly. And when he saw me upset, wrapped me in a warm hug and dropped everything to stop and pray for me and my family.

One day I was sitting in a taxi, on my way to town. The taxi driver drives all around Mabopane until the taxi is full with 16 passengers. Low and behold, walking in the distance I see William, and he gets on the same taxi as me! I couldn’t believe it, what were the odds?! He smiled and laughed at my shock. “I’m telling you God works in mysterious ways. God really is so very good. He puts the right people in your life when you need them.” And it couldn’t have been more true.

William has taught me that friendship has no limits on social systems and no limits on age. Friendship finds us and guides us in the ways we didn’t know we needed. And friendships with each other are exactly what each of us desperately needs in our lives.

This YAGM year has brought me so many gifts. But William has been a gift I never knew I needed. Recently he said to me, “My dad taught me that when you care and love someone, you must tell them. Don’t hesitate to say it, or say, ‘No I’ll just tell them later.’ You must tell people you love them always when you have the chance.”

Words cannot describe how much myself, and soooooo many others love you my friend.

Thank you William.AE06A11B-64E4-456F-8B9A-D893B661CC14.jpeg

Leave a comment