HIV Beautiful

Everyday we meet people coming and going, and sometimes those people leave unforgettable marks on our path. Thank you to my beautiful new friend who has allowed me to share our experience together with you all.

We walked up to the house to be greeted by a slightly cracked open and welcoming door. It was painted a bright ocean aqua blue. In my head the phrase rang, “Come on in the waters fine.” After an echoing knock, we decided to rest in the shade and wait. A few minutes passed and a booming “DUMELA” (hello) came from behind. The bright and welcoming essence I felt from just the front door matched its owner perfectly. We shook hands as we were introduced, and just as contagious as watching someone yawn, I couldn’t help but smile with my new friend.

The bright blue paint followed onto the walls as we walked in. Serenity. As my colleagues and I sat down, my new friend joined me on the couch and placed her new bottles of ARVs fresh from the clinic on the coffee table.

With a sight of relief sinking into the couch, she turned to me and smiled. “O pila Samanta.” (You are beautiful Samantha). “Ke a legboga, o pila,” I responded. (Thank you, you are beautiful). “YOOOO!” Impressed with the little Tswana I knew, we chatted and I learned even more. She brought out old pictures of her and her son, who shares the same name as my brother. Her body was different in these pictures from what I saw of her now, but her spirit was undeniably the same. My colleagues told me she likes to talk a lot, which made all of us laugh. Laughter breaks language barriers.

As our special time together drew to a close, I wasn’t ready to say goodbye. The feeling must have been mutual. My friend linked arms with me and together we walked down the street. Looking down I watched as our feet and strides fell in sync. My boots clicked on the sandy rocks as her bare feet glided along ever so quietly. The road was a part of her home. As the hot sun shined down on our heads and our arms draped around each other’s backs, I was beyond grateful for this true experience of accompaniment. We hugged as she kissed my chest farewell for now. “O pila Samanta.” “Tsamaya pila tsala.” (Go well my friend).

HIV: Human Immunodeficiency Virus

According to UNAIDS, approximately 36.7 million people are living with HIV/AIDS. “The HIV epidemic not only affects the health of individuals, it impacts households, communities, and the development and economic growth of nations” (hiv.gov, 2017).

Before my journey to South Africa, I knew about HIV, but not as well as I should have. I did not know the vastness and the impact it has had over time on this country, and so many others throughout the world. In a book titled “28 Stories of Aids in Africa,” Stephanie Nolen describes HIV as a virus that “destroys the immune system.” HIV is spread by transmission, commonly known through shared needles, sex, and breast milk. Although there is no cure, researchers have produced Antiretroviral Therapy (ARVs) that help people with HIV to stop the virus from reproducing. However, use of this medication is not always available or accessed for a variety of reasons, including negative stigmas and judgement.

Nolan states, “HIV grows best in imbalances of power, it has erupted and spread out from the most marginalized groups in human societies.” HIV continues to show us that the more we divide, discriminate, and other, the more we continue to fight an endless battle. Listen. Please take some time to learn more about HIV and find organizations that do good work in awareness and support.

Thank you to my new friend who has taught me more than she will ever know.

HIV beautiful.

Leave a comment