Wonder

unnamed.jpgToday we went to Tea on 23, my new favorite spot in Pietermaritzburg. It’s this beautiful cafe where you can sit outside and become surrounded by all kinds of liveliness. As chickens and roosters play hide in seek in the bushes around you, you grow to be amazed at the tree near by full of purple and white flowers. Sometimes you even catch a glance of a majestic peacock passing by, but only for a second. It seems like everywhere you look there is something you didn’t notice before; a tiny chair that I would have been so eager to test out as a kid, a stone path that could lead you to a new hidden place, or a tall tree that you wonder what stories it could tell.

Wonder.

While we were finishing up our meal, these two woman who we had met one of them earlier this week, asked to join us for a chat. It felt like a breath of fresh air to be invited into conversation. I think now about this in a U.S. context, we have been losing a sense of authenticity. With so much technology, stigmas, divisions and time restraints, we aren’t as willing to spend a little bit more time hearing about each others lives. Or even asking. We lose patience, and I know I certainly have over these last four years in college. I would get so wrapped up in what needed to be done that day, in that hour, and deviance from the plan was not in my schedule.

As we sat together in the refreshing shade, our conversation turned to one of hope. These women shared their ideas of trust and authenticity in faith. In just meeting our group for a short period of time today, they were able to grasp onto a glimpse of each of our lives. One woman turned me smiling, letting me know that she felt my sense of child-like wonder. I was amazed. By just having a simple conversation, she saw something in me that I forget about. I was reminded of my own joy and creativity by a stranger. In the craziness of life, I’ve learned to get to the point, get the tasks on the lists done. It happens to the most of us. We can’t help but get wrapped up into what is in front of us that truly blinds us. There are so many languages to learn, people to meet, music to hear, food to eat, sunsets to watch and moons to gaze.

Turn judgement into wonder.

During orientation in Chicago, we were told as volunteers going into this year to turn our judgement into wonder. It hit me like a brick wall. I felt caught in the act, because I certainly haven’t been using my judgement as an introduction to a change in perspective. I realize this isn’t a practice that will be perfected overnight, but I think practicing overnight is key. I want to continue growing in the struggle to learn to better listen, ask big questions, and wonder more often.

21192740_1740812672596790_1100846012949423046_nAs we drive around town each day, I see so many things. I see scarlet red dirt that shines brighter midday and makes me smile as it reminds me of my childhood. I see people walking home from the store or work chatting on the sidewalk together. I hear so many different languages that ring sounds of relation rather than drowning in words. I feel the deep orange sun as it kisses the mountains goodnight. I wonder what I have missed and hope I will see it tomorrow.

As our in-country orientation comes to a close this weekend, I’m excited to not just turn my judgement into wonder, but to continue to wonder more and more. At the entrance of the building at Tea on 23, their sign states:

“Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved.”

Let the mystery unravel and the wonder begin.

Leave a comment